Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jacob tutors in New York, NY

Jacob B.

Private tutor in New York, NY


BA in History and Linguistics from City College of New York, City University of New York, MA in History and Linguistics from City College of New York, City University of New York, PhD in History from City University of New York Graduate Center


I have been a tutor for nearly four years. I'm a PhD and went through the City of New York education system (CUNY). I have a PhD in History. I also have Masters degrees in History and Linguistics and Bachelor degrees in both History and Linguistics. I love all periods of history and am a huge history nerd.  As previously stated I have nearly four years of tutoring experience and I am able to tutor for the ACT-where most of my students have gotten between a 30 and 36, with regards to the SHSAT I have never tutored a student who did not get into at least one of the 7 SHSAT schools, and I am prepared and ready to teach to the new SHSAT. With regards to the SAT’s, my students have gotten in the old system between a 2200 and a 2400, and in the new system between a 1400 and a 1600. I have also tutored the SAT Subject Test in U.S. History, SAT Subject Test in World History. In the SAT Subject tests, my students have gotten between a 650 and 800. For my AP tutoring, I am able to tutor AP History, AP Art History, AP European History, AP Human Geography, AP United States History, AP United States Government and Politics, and AP World History. Through my tutoring methods, most of my students have gotten a 4 or 5 on the AP tests. I have also helped students study for the Regents exams such as Global History and Geography, as well as the Common Core Math and ELA exams. My students for the regents have overwhelmingly scored above a 95%, even when they knew very little going into exam prep, but once again through my method of tutoring my students have excelled above and beyond their wildest dreams. I have tutored students from Kindergarten through Graduate School, as well as adults. I am an honest hard working person who believes that honesty, regardless of consequences, is worth the risk. I am hardworking and am never late (10 minutes early is 20 minutes late). I am diligent and self-motivated and tend to inspire others and love to share my passions of learning with everyone. My tutoring style changes based on age and student, but a few things are constant. I am a lover of learning and try to impart that on my students. I am an encourager and tell my students how well they are doing throughout the sessions. I bring candies to reward students for correct answers as well as to get them motivated. I do not chastise students for getting the wrong answer but rather find it is more effective if I go over the incorrect question and have the student realize their mistakes.  The most important part of my tutoring strategy is to let the student come to love the subject, be it through sports comparisons, art comparisons, history comparisons, or general comparisons to everyday life. Students should come to love the subjects they are learning and should get as much as they can out of their time in school. I understand that not every student (or even most) will come to love school, but I try to impart on them a spark that either they by themselves or both of us together can later turn into a bright flame. It is also important for the student to know that learning can be fun, and I accomplish this in the ways I mentioned previously. I also know that sometimes we must do things we do not like to get what we want. When there is a test coming up, a student must be prepared, regardless of their love for the subject and I can be strict when it is needed. In addition to the aforementioned subjects, I can tutor most anything, just message me and ask. If do not feel comfortable tutoring in the requested subject I will say so.

Subject Expertise


Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away for a flat fee


I love to ski, watch sports (especially football, and soccer), and I needlepoint.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!