Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Imani tutors in New York, NY

Imani S.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

I studied Biomedical Sciences at SUNY Cortland and graduated with my Bachelors degree in 2014. I am passionate about the many different areas within the field of biology and loved the challenges that came along with studying them.

Experience

--> 2.5 years - I was a peer tutor for the following subjects : Principles of Biology I & II, Zoology, and Microbiology. I worked with students on a one-to-one basis and helped them to understand difficult course material. --> 2.5 years- I was also a Supplemental Instruction Leader for Principles of Biology I & II and Zoology (BIO202). I organized and delivered multiple review sessions per week for up to 50 students. I assisted them in reviewing course notes, developing good study strategies, and preparing for exams. --> I want to be a biology tutor because I want to make a positive difference in the lives of students. I know that sometimes it is difficult for students to ask for help. I used to be one of those students. During my freshman year I went to peer review sessions for one of my biology courses. I ended up getting an A+ in that course and I know that it was because of my hard work but also the extra help I received from my fellow student. Its a great feeling knowing that you are helping someone to achieve their goals and possibly gain a love for the subject. --> Relevant courses : Zoology, Pathology, Cellular Biology, Genetics, Microbiology Mammalian Physiology, and Mammalian Anatomy --> Research Experience: I worked with a professor to develop a portable cell-based water toxicity sensor

Availability

Monday after 5PM, Tuesday after 5PM, Wednesday after 5PM, Thursday after 5PM

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

I love to sing! I am on my church's youth choir (8 years) and I also do solos every few months. I love spending quality time with my family and friends. I enjoy modeling. I modeled in a few fashion shows during college and I've done a few NYC fashion shows. I'm always looking for new ones to participate in !

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!