Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Yusi tutors in New York, NY

Yusi W.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Yusi W.523

23 reviews

Education

Southwest Petroleum University - Bachelors, Resource Exploration , New York University - Masters, Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language & Teaching ESL

Experience

I'm a full-time elementary school DOE teacher, currently working in Brooklyn. My responsibilities at school center around teaching students from kindergarten to fifth grade Mandarin Chinese as a foreign language. I also spend time supporting ELL students who speak Spanish, Arabic, or Haitian Creole at home. As a non-native English speaker working with an entirely English-speaking staff, I've developed the ability to easily and clearly communicate across language barriers. I am extremely comfortable with using English as a medium of instruction -- particularly with regards to my speech clarity. I'm a former STEM major, which I've found helps me explain complicated concepts in an easy to understand, logical way. In addition to working at an elementary school, I've also provided private tutoring for more than three years. During this time I've worked with students from as diverse age groups as pre-kindergarten and adults. I believe in goal-oriented, pragmatic tutoring, which is why I place an emphasis on scaffolding and differentiated instruction. As a native Chinese speaker and active observer of Chinese culture, I can also help students with their interest and motivation towards learning the Mandarin language. This is because many of the overlooked aspects of Chinese culture are incredibly fascinating. I'll be able to provide that unique perspective to my students. I hope I can use these skills to help you reach your educational goals.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

biking, reading, movies, soccer, jogging

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!