Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Rona tutors in New York, NY

Rona B.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Rona B.58

8 reviews

Education

Cornell University - Bachelors, Chemical Engineer , Pennsylvania State University-Main Campus - PhD, Materials Science and Engineering

Experience

I have had a very wide range of experiences as a teacher, even though my focus as a tutor is mathematics, engineering, and science for all grade levels of students. I want to especially inspire female students in the STEM fields, because women are drastically underrepresented in those positions. I personally did not appreciate science until I was thirteen. Then, as a sophomore in high school, I found a love of chemistry. My teaching experience began in high school, working in classrooms, individual tutoring, and small group work. I began as a teaching assistant for the Hebrew School attached to my synagogue when I was in high school. There, I taught third, fourth, and fifth grade students Hebrew. I also taught three home-schooled children in Hebrew, which involved designing activities, lesson plans, and tests for these students. While I spent a year abroad in Israel, I was a volunteer to teach English in a grade school class, and also an after-school program for underprivileged teenagers. This provided me with both group work and individual tutoring experience in English as a second language. While in college, I was a workshop coordinator for chemistry for freshmen, and I was also a teaching assistant for a junior level chemical engineering class. Through both of these experiences, I came up with problems, and helped students prepare for exams. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

10 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

My hobbies include reading, playing piano, biking, playing board games, and listening to music.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!