Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ericka  tutors in New York, NY

Ericka K.

Private tutor in New York, NY


Currently pursuing a PhD in Microbiology at the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai. B.S. in Microbiology with a minor in Bioinformatics from the University of Florida in 2014. GPA 3.4. B.S. in Zoology from the University of Florida in 2014. GPA 3.4.


I have both tutoring and teaching experience in various subjects. I tutored students when I was a junior/senior in high school in geometry and algebra, but I have gotten rusty in those subjects over the years. I have teaching experience in microbiology, genetics, biology, virology and bioinformatics from being a teaching assistant as an undergraduate. I taught a few classes including hands on lab courses and online based courses. I scored very well on the AP Courses that I have listed in my subjects, a 4 or 5 in all of them. I also have kept up with or am still very familiar with the material for the courses. As for the other subjects I have listed, I have taken a course (or more than one) in the subject and passed with a B or higher. I am currently running a science blog ( that tries to convey scientific concepts to non-scientists and mentoring a high school senior with her college essays. I have excellent grammar and writing skills and have taken a technical writing course (which I received an A in). I would love to be a tutor because Mount Sinai does not have very many opportunities for me to teach; and it's something I really enjoy! Helping someone understand science, or any other subject, makes me happy. I love watching a student's eyes light up when they finally grasp a concept and gain confidence in their coursework.


Any day in the evening

Can Meet

Up to 20 minutes away for no additional charge


As a PhD student, my hobbies include working in lab and studying... All jokes aside, I have two dogs that I love to take on adventures around the city. I recently moved to NYC from Florida and have had plenty of adventures so far. I enjoy traveling and getting to experience new things. I'm also a bookworm (I have a small personal library) and am a giant Harry Potter fan. Also, I read scientific papers and can help break down how to read/analyze them if that is something that a student is interested in.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!