Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Allison tutors in New York, NY

Allison W.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Pace University - Bachelors, English Language and Literature

Experience

As someone who has personally had problems with learning differences in my life, I know the challenges involved with learning. I have learned that it's very important to adapt my teaching methods to each individual student in order to meet their needs. I have learned so much from my experiences as a teacher, particularly the importance of acceptance, empathy, compassion, and patience.I have had the pleasure of teaching students of all abilities, backgrounds, and ages. While attending both Pace University and the University of San Francisco, I worked with college students as a writing tutor. During this time, I worked with students in the general population as well as English language learners and students with disabilities. I have also worked with young children (ages 3-8) on math and reading. I have a background in English and language arts, but am able to teach other subjects as well. I love to help children find a love for reading and writing, as well as improving their confidence and skills in the subject.I graduated from Pace University with a bachelor's degree in English language and literature with minors in creative writing, sociology/anthropology, queer studies, and creative writing. I hope to pursue a graduate degree in special education.When I'm not teaching, I enjoy being with family and friends, traveling, music, cooking, reading, and writing.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Reading, Writing, Music, Playing guitar, Traveling, Cooking, Art, Teaching, Psychology, Sociology, Exercise, Hockey, Board Games, Exploring the city

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!