Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Charles tutors in New York, NY

Charles T.

Private tutor in New York, NY


Oberlin College - Bachelors, East Asian Studies, 1996 (GPA: 3.6) Columbia University, School of International and Public Affairs (SIPA), Masters, International Affairs, 2000 (GPA: 3.9)


SAT Verbal:670; SAT Math: 700 (Scored using previous method) GRE Verbal: 800 (highest mark); GRE Quantitative: 640; GRE Essay: 6.0 ( highest mark) (Scored using previous method) In terms of my background and qualifications, I have worked at the United Nations on economic development, and I have also been a speechwriter for diplomats. In addition, I have some Japanese language ability. Moreover, I have taught both junior high school students in Japan, as well as college students in NYC. I absolutely love working with young people, and I enjoy helping them to develop their talents. For the past several years I've been consulting for a Japanese foundation, writing analytical trend reports and managing fellowship programs. However, the work is not always consistent, which is why I thought tutoring would be a great way to enhance my professional career. Although I haven't specifically tutored, I've taught in a classroom setting several times. Furthermore, I love kids, and I have two fabulous nieces (ages 12 and 14) whose school careers I follow closely. My educational philosophy is to be supportive but firm. I encourage young people to work hard, but also to not be afraid to tackle new subjects and adopt new study strategies and ways of thinking.


Weekdays after 12 Noon, Weekends after 12 Noon

Can Meet

Up to 1 hour away at my regular hourly rate


I am a native New Yorker who grew up on the upper west side of Manhattan and attended Stuyvesant high school. I love the city and greatly enjoyed growing up here. I went to Oberlin College, and I also spent two years living and working in Japan, which was an incredible experience. My professional background is in international affairs, and I've worked at the UN and for other international organizations. In terms of hobbies and interests, I love sports and am a lifelong Mets fan (this is our year!). I also enjoy following politics and current affairs. I like music a great deal as well, everything from 60s and 70s classic rock to hip-hop to reggae to current pop tunes. I am a very curious person by nature, and I have a keen analytical mind. I am also quite empathetic, and I believe this is one of the most important qualities one can have both as an educator and in life.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!