Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alec tutors in New York, NY

Alec D.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Haverford College - BS, Chemistry

Experience

I earned my Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from Haverford College. While attending Haverford, I expanded my interests to include other scientific areas of study triggered by my enthusiasm for medicine. I then enrolled in several high-level classes in chemistry, biology, math, and physics. I additionally studied the subjects of public health, philosophy, and economics. Recently, I completed a 10-month term with a residential service program, AmeriCorps NCCC. This program gave me the opportunity to work with nearly a dozen other young people on community service projects spanning the West Coast. From this experience, I cultivated a deeper understanding of what it means to be a part of a team. I've also acquired skills in working with a wide variety of people. Plus, it was a great opportunity to tour the country while doing some really hard work and participating in a truly enriching experience. As for my tutoring experience, I tutored throughout my tenure as an undergraduate, serving as a private tutor and a teaching assistant. In these roles, I helped both high school and college students learn more about the various sciences. I've leveraged tutoring in my own life, getting extra help with the MCAT and the SAT, and the results were very beneficial. My goal is to pass what I've learned along to other students facing academic struggles. When it comes to my tutoring style, I take the laid-back approach, creating a stress-free learning environment. I try to get the students to feel at ease with basic concepts, and then I help them forge ahead to solving problems independently.Outside of the classroom, I enjoy playing piano, playing baseball and football, learning about medicine, discovering new technology, and watching movies.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Piano, Baseball, Football, Medicine, Technology, Movies,

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!