Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Benny tutors in New York, NY

Benny W.

Private tutor in New York, NY


BS in Neurobiology and Behavior at Cornell University, Summa Cum Laude GPA 3.7 Class of 2013 Med School: Zucker SoM Hofstra Northwell Residency: ophthalmology


USMLE tutor 10 years of tutoring experience SAT 2150 AP Scores of 4s and 5s on AP Biology, AP Chemistry, AP Calculus BC, AP Physics, AP Statistics MCAT Score 34: 12 Physical Sciences, 11 Verbal Reasoning, 11 Biological Sciences I am a graduate of Cornell University with a degree in Neurobiology and Behavior. I believe that tutoring not only enables me to help students, but it also provides me the opportunity to enhance my students’ passion for lifelong learning. I am a current medical school student at the Hofstra North Shore LIJ School of Medicine As a previous tutor and teaching assistant for various courses at Cornell, I witnessed firsthand the positive effects of collaboration on student exam performance and retention on course material. The best route to improvement is being able to objectively identify which academic areas to strengthen. It is always possible to improve and succeed academically with proper organization, goals, and a guide. I have tutored students in subjects ranging from the MCAT, physiology, biology, biochemistry, physics, chemistry, SATs, ACTs, Regents, GRE, English and essay composition. I have tutored clients in subjects ranging from the MCAT, physics, chemistry, English, to upper-level biology classes such as biochemistry and physical chemistry. I took the MCAT and received a score of 34, 12 in Physical Sciences, 11 in Verbal Reasoning, and 11 in Biological Sciences, which placed me in the 93rd percentile of all test takers. I understand the struggles of preparing for medical school and can impart my past experiences and strategies to create a personalized plan with you in order to significantly increase your score. As long as you’re ready to study smart with my guidance, the sky is the limit. With prior experience to teaching introductory and upper level basic science courses, I firmly believe you will be adequately prepared for your science classes. At Cornell, I was a teaching assistant for Comparative Physiology, where we were trained in learning strategies and principles of pedagogy. We were assigned to groups of students who showed difficulty in mastering the content for the course. Through using guided study sheets, spaced learning and electronic resources, my students were able to do 1 standard deviation higher compared to the class. Afterwards, I became a Senior Teaching assistant to help other Teaching Assistants in their group sessions. My other tasks included peer tutoring in the Office of Undergraduate Biology in all of the biology, chemistry and physics courses. Through my experience, I have recognized the importance in placing comprehension over memorization on my own grades and the students I have tutored so far. I have been able to help students in various high school and university level science courses and standardized tests to achieve the results they desire. The first part of that journey is to determine what learning style the student is in order to fully maximize their learning potential. Along with proper review at timed intervals using various resources, my students have been able to achieve long-term memory retention and improved problem solving skills. I will ensure you will receive a professional service you deserve just as I intend to serve my future patients with the highest quality of care. As your mentor, I will work with you to fully comprehend the material and excel in your endeavors towards a better future.


Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 25 minutes away for a flat fee, Up to 15 minutes away for no additional charge


Fitness, rock climbing, trying out new foods, traveling, archery, cooking, Olympic weight lifting,

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!