Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tyler tutors in New York, NY

Tyler H.

Private tutor in New York, NY

4Tyler H.

2 reviews

Education

Haverford College - BA, English , New York University - PhD, Comparative Literature

Experience

I'm a current candidate in New York University's Comparative Literature program. I am also a graduate of Haverford College, where I studied English. I have an extensive background in literature and the humanities in general. My teaching interests are wide-ranging, including reading, comprehension, writing, grammar/mechanics, and languages. I'm also a great test-taker, and have been helpful to students in preparing for a panoply of tests, from high school level to higher ed. I've worked with students on the PSAT, SAT, ISEE, SSAT, GRE, etc. I have proficiency in upper-level French instruction, as well. I've worked as an editor, so I am highly skilled at working with students on creative and critical writing skills, editing, and essay composition and revision. I've helped people with a range of application materials, as well, including college apps, personal statements, and job materials. Having grown up dealing with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder, I had to work hard to develop learning and organizational strategies to keep myself on task. As a result, I'm extremely comfortable working with students with complex needs to find innovative learning tools for success. There's no one, right way to learn, and there are as many strategies as there are people in the world. In this way, I like to encourage students to use whatever methods grant them success. I love to run, cook, play music (rock and blues), and experiment with my guitars. I love Paris and the color red, and my favorite song is probably "Atom Heart Mother Suite" (Pink Floyd).

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Playing guitar and drums, cooking, reading

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!