Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Joshua tutors in New York, NY

Joshua L.

Private tutor in New York, NY

5Joshua L.

26 reviews

Education

Columbia University in the City of New York - BA, French and Francophone Studies , University of Pennsylvania - MS, Social Policy

Experience

I attended Columbia University where I earned a bachelor's in French and Francophone Studies (magna cum laude). My thesis work was on the art exchanges between New York, Paris, and Senegal. I have also earned a Certificate in African Studies. The focus of my studies was the social segregation of immigrants within Europe. After graduating, I accepted a position at a school in Harlem, where I work as the College Counselor for students in middle and high school. During my time as a Counselor, I have been able to make connections with university admissions counselors in many parts of the country. I am happy to connect my tutoring students with any colleges I have worked with. My specialty in tutoring is test preparation, including the ACT, SAT, PSAT, SHSAT, and GRE. I am able to assist with all aspects and subjects of these tests, including but not limited to Math, Verbal, Writing, Critical Reading, and French. I am also familiar with the CAHSEE and ACCUPLACER tests. I believe that even while studying for a standardized test, the material being covered should relate back to subjects and goals that you are passionate about. This makes your work more relevant and meaningful. Beyond test prep, I am available to tutor a variety of subjects. I am familiar with elementary through high school mathematics, including Trigonometry and Calculus. Additional topics include general Social Studies, History, French (levels 1-4), and English. I especially enjoy teaching writing, as creative writing is a personal hobby of mine. I can also assist with Literature, Grammar and Mechanics, Reading, and College Essays.When I'm not working, I love to learn new languages. I also enjoy writing, art, museums, and film.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Creative writing, foreign languages, linguistics, art, culture, museums, film

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!