Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Alan tutors in New York, NY

Alan G.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Clark University - BA, Philosophy

Experience

A cum laude graduate at Clark University, I also earned a CELTA certification from Cambridge University for English teaching.I'm a native of Queens, New York, and attended high school at Hunter College. Now living in Brooklyn, I know the city like the back of my hand. In addition, I have tutoring and teaching experience of several years, and have been able to instruct students in various subjects. That said, I have two areas of specialty.Firstly, I concentrate on ESL for teenagers and adults. My experience ranges from teaching ESL in private, one-on-one environments to instructing in front of a large number of learners. The students I assist come from various parts of the world, which is why I gear my specific lessons to best meet their needs. All of my classes, however, include English-language fundamentals in writing, reading, listening, and speaking. My city-as-a-classroom teaching method is beneficial because it encourages my students to immerse themselves in what they are learning both inside of the classroom and in the world at large.Secondly, I provide tutoring assistance in English, exam preparation, and mathematics to students in elementary school through middle school. Additionally, I have a strong background in spearheading after-school programs, and in leading one-one-one tutoring sessions held in private homes and in learning centers. My students come from various backgrounds and competency levels, and I am able to teach them the art of good study skills and test-taking tips.When not studying or working, I like to listen to music, take pictures, and go skateboarding.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Photography, Music, Skateboarding

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!