Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Daniel tutors in New York, NY

Daniel A.

Private tutor in New York, NY


Temple University - BBA, Economics , University of Pensylvania - MLA, English, Comparative Literature and Theatre (ABT)


I am a former classroom teacher with eight years of experience. I also hold a current New York State Teaching Certificate in English/Language Arts for Grades 7 through 12. For more than ten years, I have successfully tutored students in English Literature, Writing (Creative, Expository, and Argumentative), Grammar, NYS Regents and SAT and ACT Verbal Preparation. I love tutoring and coaching for two reasons: 1) I love to see students empower themselves through their own recognition of how to attack a piece of writing or literature and enhancement of their own critical thinking processes, and 2) I learn from them. I subscribe to the "Teacher as Learner" philosophy; our interactive work allows me to see how the student thinks, and gives me more avenues to help them attack and own their work. I like to think of this process as my "driving from the back of the bus". When the student is the active learner (and teacher), his/her modalities of learning remain a more indelible part of their processes, instead of just "swallowing strategies" which are easier to lose. I have always maintained a fantastic rapport with students; I make them feel at ease, let them know that it's OK to make mistakes, as that's how we learn, and that the worst that happens in the preparation process is that they can get up, dust themselves off, and get back on the bike, armed with new strategies for them to try and apply. My tutoring services forges strong professional learning partnerships between the student and myself.


Weekends at any time, Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


Playing guitar and bass, very eclectic musical tastes. Also love (and teach) filmmaking and acting, and enjoy reading, and cooking.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!