Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Jozsef tutors in New York, NY

Jozsef M.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Columbia University (PhD Neuroscience, expected 2015) University of Pennsylvania (JD, 2010) University of Maryland (Physics BS 2007; Neurobiology BS 2007)

Experience

I am a young adjunct Professor and presently a neuroscientist at Columbia University. My experience with education is extensive: I have completed contracts involving standardized test design and assessment for the Ohio and Hawaii Departments of Education, I have taught five college-level courses, each of which I developed independently, and I have worked at NASA to develop teaching workshops for high school educators. Students who take my courses have given me exceedingly positive (very good to excellent) reviews. My performance on standardized tests including the GRE and LSAT is in the top 1% of all test-takers. I have both a law degree and am nearly finished with a PhD in neuroscience. I have taught and published peer-reviewed work in both of these fields. I would like to tutor one student, for whom I would create a comprehensive and holistic learning experience. The student would preferably be early in high school and the tutoring relationship would last at least one year, but ideally longer. I am open to discussing other arrangements as well. I am competent in a range of subjects necessary for carrying out a research career (physics, chemistry, biology, advanced mathematics, laboratory science, communication, and analytical reasoning). I would be open to developing specialized material related to any of these subjects or to simply assist the student with any ongoing schoolwork or other academic endeavors. It is my opinion that a student will learn the best from a mentor who is personally and professionally enmeshed in making abstract academic concepts applicable to concrete endeavors, as I do with laboratory science.

Availability

Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 45 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I enjoy outdoor pursuits: hiking, trail running, boating, backpacking. I like to make things, like bread, furniture, paintings, and more abstract constructions using paper or wood. I am also Hungarian, and spend a lot of time with family there each year.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!