Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Paul tutors in New York, NY

Paul S.

Private tutor in New York, NY

5Paul S.

14 reviews

Education

George Washington University - BA, Asian Studies & International Affairs , New York University - MS, Chinese Translation

Experience

My passion for teaching Chinese has its roots in my experiences of traveling and working in China. I've worked as a marketing director at an architecture firm in Beijing, and I've been a translator for China National Geographic. I studied Chinese in Beijing at Peking University, and also in Washington, DC, at George Washington University. Originally from upstate New York, I am now in a master's program in Chinese at NYU. While learning Chinese can be very challenging, I believe that success is within reach for all students. I use a flexible approach that I can tailor to each student's individual needs. For example, some students want to learn vocabulary related to a specific subject; others want to focus more on either reading or speaking. I customize the curriculum and help students to get over the hurdles of beginning Chinese to help them achieve fluency. In addition to teaching speaking and reading, I teach students Chinese typing and writing. Because of my extensive business experience in China, I can also tailor lessons to focus on business Chinese for those who need it. Having studied, worked, and traveled in China has given me many insights that I love to share with students. I can help my students to appreciate cultural and historical aspects of China. I hope I can help you learn Chinese! My interests outside of teaching include international affairs and history. I really enjoy traveling, writing, and drinking tea.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

I really enjoy history and international affairs. I also really like writing, traveling, and tea.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!