Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Tom tutors in New York, NY

Tom C.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Hunter College BA/MA Earth Science Adolescent Education Math and Geology Minor Graduated Spring 2013 (Honors) GPA 3.77 200+ Credits Also currently a Post Baccalaureate Student still taking math and physics courses as prereqs for grad programs

Experience

-Adjunct Lecturer at Hunter College in Weather and Climate -Research Assistant at Hunter College -College Assistant at the Hunter College Weather Station -Math/Physics/Earth Science tutor for Hunter SEEK Program -6 years tutoring experience in NYC schools grades 7-12 -Student teaching experience Spring 2013 -Taken Calculus based college physics 1 and 2 (Currently taking Fluid Mechanics) -Taken 25 college credits in Mathematics and Statistics from Calculus to Vector analysis -Taken copious amounts of Earth Science related classes -Baseball coach for Bull Dogs Ball Club Fall 2011 (kids 4-8) Tutoring is important to me, especially in the Math and Sciences, because it is the future and is ever so important and relevant in everyday life. I love delving into the intricacies of nature and resolving/reasoning/predicting natural phenomena using Math and Science. It is such a powerful tool and I love to share it with anyone willing to listen. Watching a student of mine overcome difficulty in such subjects makes me proud. I also learn through such practice and grow intellectually myself. Overall, teaching and tutoring is quite a rewarding endeavor. (Desired hourly rate may depend on subject, tutoring time, or travel time therefore it will vary and is negotiable. $40/hr is an estimate. I am also in Manhattan quite often near Hunter College so my locations are primarily Astoria and Manhattan. Lastly my availability may vary from week to week. Also may be willing to do weekends. Just contact me and we'll talk)

Availability

Weekends at any time, Wednesday at any time, Friday at any time, Any day at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

Currently play baseball in the NYCMBL, 18+ years baseball experience, Racquetball Intramural Champion at Hunter College, Very sports/physical fitness oriented, Love of music: Plays the bass and fiddles with a few other instruments (guitar, piano, ukulele). I place the utmost importance on my education. Would like to be enrolled in a PhD program in the next year.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!