Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Allison tutors in New York, NY

Allison K.

Private tutor in New York, NY


I recently completed a PhD in Art History and Archaeology from NYU with a concentration on Roman art and architecture. Having received a Masters from the University of Oxford in Classical Archaeology (2011) and graduated Summa Cum Laude with a Bachelor of Arts in History from Clemson University (2010) and Minors in Music and Italian, I am well-versed in many subjects.


One of my greatest passions is teaching, and I consider myself incredibly fortunate that I have the opportunity to combine my research interests and teaching so seamlessly. I am certified by the College Reading & Learning Association to tutor a variety of academic courses at the university level, but I can tutor at all levels from beginner to advanced, children to adults. I have worked two years tutoring in a college setting, and several years giving private tutoring lessons to both middle schoolers and adults. Beyond private tutoring, I have also taught at NYU, CCNY, and Clemson undergraduate and master's-level courses and have served as a major fellowships advisor. In this position I managed, critiqued, and mentored top honors undergraduate students as they applied for major fellowships such as the Fulbright, Rhodes, Goldwater, and NSF. Other Qualifications: - Italian - minored in the language during undergraduate studies, conducted research regularly in Rome, and have traveled extensively throughout the country. I also spent 5 months teaching an undergraduate Italian language course to students in preparation for study abroad. - History/Art History/Social Sciences - as my main area of focus, I am adept in advising and tutoring all aspects of the field, particularly as it pertains to western civilization. Please feel free to ask me for a CV or references!


Tuesday in the afternoon, Wednesday in the afternoon, Thursday in the afternoon

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge


Some of the best and most memorable moments of my life have taken place while traveling and meeting new people along the way. In my spare time, I find myself most happy when I am immersed in music (both performing and attending concerts), conversation, cooking, reading, watching film, and photography. As an anomaly, I am also a big sports fan (particularly when it comes to college football and international soccer)!

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!