Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Murphy tutors in New York, NY

Murphy C.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Rhode Island School of Design, Fine Arts BFA Brown University (part time): Creative Writing / Hybrid Text, Orchestra, French Overall GPA 3.69 SAT Math 800 English combined 1400 AP Calculus I & II: 5

Experience

I previously tutored math and Chinese in an after school program in Chinese school. I have extensive experience in studio art teaching after being a Teaching Assistant for multiple drawing classes and also co-teaching an Advanced Drawing course with my advisor at the Rhode Island School of Design. Before deciding to go to a Fine Arts school, I was training as a classical musician (my primary instrument being the flute) and such training required my understanding mathematics in both an academic and also applied / instinctual manner. Born in the States and raised here and in Taiwan, I am fluent in both English and Mandarin Chinese (my mother is a Chinese teacher) and have conversational skills in Spanish and French. I am strongly of the belief that the best way to learn is to be able to reference many different areas of study and interact with people who work in fields unlike one's own and the best way to teach is to be open to learning from one's students.

Availability

Wednesday at any time, Saturday at any time, Sunday at any time, Monday after 7PM, Tuesday after 5PM, Thursday after 7PM

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away for no additional charge

Hobbies

When I am not a day-time graphic designer for a contemporary dance company, I am working in my studio on my portfolio of drawings and installations. I enjoy going to the many museums around the city, attending rehearsals whenever possible at the Met Opera and going to the Philharmonic. When it isn't raining I like to bike in the crazy streets of New York City.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!