Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Shejla tutors in New York, NY

Shejla P.

Private tutor in New York, NY

Education

Sarah Lawrence College - Bachelors, Chemistry

Experience

I'm a tutor who is based out of New York City, where I enjoy studying hip hop music, traveling, and cooking when I'm not in the classroom working with students. I have my bachelor's degree in chemistry from Sarah Lawrence College, and I'm a current graduate student in inorganic chemistry at the University of Pennsylvania. As a tutor, I'm able to help students with a variety of courses. Some of the lessons I've taught in the past have been in math, standardized test preparation, and science, amongst other things. I have a wealth of experience working in the field of education from which I draw when working with new students. I'm a teacher's assistant and visiting scholar at the University of Pennsylvania, have served as a note-taker for disabled students, and have worked with local pre-K and kindergarten students in science. I love getting to know my students and understanding what works for them and what doesn't. I use this information to develop individualized lesson plans that target my students' specific areas of weakness. I love the feeling I get when a student finally has a breakthrough in a subject area they've been struggling with for awhile. I believe that every student has the ability to succeed academically with the right guidance.

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Middle-Ages History and Classic Literature, Motivational speaking, Leadership workshops and Team Work Projects. STEM Advancement and Instruction. Inorganic and Bio-Inorganic Chemistry Research. Hip-Hop music, British Documentaries and TV Shows, Travelling, Fashion, Cooking, Healthy Living, Fitness and Gym Workout, Soccer, Tennis.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!